Texas Car Insurance — Underage Drivers, Driving While Intoxicated, and the SR-22
There are a wide variety of motorists but providers are able to simplify things by dividing them into two groups: the high-risk individuals and the others. This distinction is important from a business perspective. The first group drains a lot of money through claims and so is charged with correspondingly lofty fees. It usually made up of errant and inexperienced drivers — those who got caught handling the wheel while drunk and the like. Once a person has been labeled as such, it can be hard to shake off the tag and find affordable car insurance in Texas, but it is always possible to try and cut rates down to more reasonable levels.
TX Car Insurance for Juvenile Drivers
Driving per se is not that difficult to learn and, indeed, most people begin to take lessons at an early age. However, from driving situations require maturity and experience. Every state regulates the age at which young drivers may be given certain rights. Texas allows teenagers to go behind the wheel but they must prove themselves at each level before progressing to the next.
Graduated Driver Licensing Law Requirements Texas
|Learner’s permit||15 years old|
|Intermediate license||16 years old|
|Full licensure||17 years|
|Mandatory Learner’s Permit Hold||6 months|
|Supervised Practice Driving||20hrs; at least 10hrs of which must be at night|
|Unsupervised Nighttime Driving Ban||Prohibition between 12AM-5AM during intermediate stage, secondary enforcement|
|Passenger Restrictions||No more than 1 passenger under 21yrs old|
|Cell Phone Use||Ban on non-emergency calls, hands-free use included, during initial 12 months of intermediate stage|
|Texting||Prohibition during intermediate stage and for all drivers when crossing school zones|
DUI Insurance in Texas
Texans take drunk driving seriously. You only need to look at the penalties they impose on first-time offenders to know that they do not take this lightly. Motorists who are guilty of DUI may be thrown in jail for a minimum of 72 hours and a maximum of 180 days. Drunk driving with a minor who is under 15 can aggravate the situation and make the judge increase the jail term to two years. The license can be suspended for a minimum of 90 days to a maximum of one year. Fines can be imposed as well, reaching up to $10,000 for the worst cases. Annual surcharges may apply with amounts depending on the Blood Alcohol Level.
SR-22 insurance in Texas
The document known as SR-22 is a requirement for people who want their license suspension lifted. Motorists must have committed grave errors of judgment in order to get to this point, examples of which are neglecting to carry insurance papers while on the road and driving while intoxicated.
Vehicle insurance is not just a legal requirement. It is a practical necessity for drivers who want to protect themselves and those around them. Do the responsible thing and get yours immediately before setting off. If money is an issue, then look for affordable auto insurance in Texas by utilizing the quote finder by cheapautoinsuranceintexas.org.
Search technology is changing the way people shop for the most affordable car insurance in Texas. Use it and see the difference.
Additional local deals can be found in these major Texas cities:Texas State Facts
FAQ Texas State